About TRACE TRACE Foundation Investigative Reporting

Investigative Reporting

TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting – Uncovering Commercial Bribery

2017 Prize Winners Announced

The 2017 TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting was awarded to the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ) for The Panama Papers and to freelance Journalist, Dorothee Myriam Kellou, for her investigation into Lafarge's investigations in Syria.

Honorable mentions were given to  Michael Kavanagh, Thomas Wilson and Franz Wild, reporters at Bloomberg, for their work entitled "Congo's Secret Web of Power", and to Elias Mambo, journalist for the Zimbabwe Independent Newspaper  for his investigation chronicling how Zimbabwe's government circumvented tender procedures to corruptly award a power energy deal to a company that had not submitted its bid. 

Read the full press release here. 


The ICIJ Team (left) and Dorothee Myriam Kellou (right) accept the 2017 TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting with TRACE President Alexandra Wrage.

 The 2018 TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting will open in the autumn of 2017 - check back for details

“We have seen truly unprecedented examples of investigative journalism in 2016 that have exposed corruption,” said TRACE President Alexandra Wrage. “We look forward to receiving this year’s submissions and honoring the journalists undertaking this important work.” 


“Corruption is a global virus, and the battle against it must be, too. The TRACE prize uniquely recognizes and encourages the courageous, meticulous journalism that is part of that fight, anywhere it finds a voice.”

Diana Henriques, TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting judge.

The TRACE Prize for Investigative Journalism recognizes reporting that uncovers business bribery with the goal of increasing commercial transparency.

Nominees may be print, broadcast or online reporters from any country who have investigated bribery schemes, business activities that create serious conflicts of interest or similar misconduct. Entries must have appeared in print or online during the 2017 calendar year to be eligible for consideration. Multiple entries per author are permitted, as are team entries produced by groups of journalists.  

A panel of independent judges will review the submissions and select up to two winning entries. Each winning entry will receive a cash prize of $10,000 USD and the reporter will be invited to an award ceremony hosted by TRACE. The judges may also name up to two honorable mentions, who will each receive $1,000 USD.

The 2017 judges were:

  • William Gumede, Associate Professor, School of Governance, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg; Founder and Chairman of the Democracy Works Foundation.

  • Diana Henriques, Financial writer and author, formerly with The New York Times.

  • Rosebell Kagumire, Multimedia, writer and digital communication strategist, public speaker and award-winning blogger based in Kampala, Uganda.

  • Peter Klein, Executive Director of the Global Reporting Centre.

  • Donatella Lorch, Freelance reporter, formerly with The New York Times, NBC News and Newsweek, currently based in Ankara, Turkey.

  • Jorge Luis Sierra, Knight International Journalism Fellow.

The 2018 award be open for submissions in the autumn of 2017. Any queries should be emailed to Caitlin Seymour, cseymour@traceinternational.org.

Previous Winners of the TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting


The Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project and The Wall Street Journal 

The Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP) in conjunction with Swedish Television’s Uppdrag Granskning (Mission Investigate) and Sweden’s TT News Agency, for their investigation uncovering a complex Azerbaijan telecom scandal.

The Wall Street Journal, for their reporting on the vast network of corruption relating to Malaysia's 1MDB fund.

Read the full press release here.